Newbie from JustinGuitar Beginner level 1 Complete

mskorude
mskorude
08/26/2021 7:07 pm

Hi Folks!

I am a newbie just moving over after spending more months than I care to share finishing Justin Guitar Beginner Grade 1.

One issue I am running into is the alternative cord finger placelements in Fundimentals 1. I spent so much time doing cord changes and perfect cord practice to get those correct and now this is showing different ways to do it. Bottom line this is causing my pea brain to hit tilt! :)

So, question. Does it matter? Can I keep doing cords they way I know them? I would for sure prefer to go with what I know.

Lastly, any other JustinGuitar converts? Any good guidance in making the change to G-Tricks?

Thanks!

Mike

# 1
manXcat
Full Access
manXcat
Full Access
08/27/2021 2:02 am

G'day & welcome to GT.[br][br] I've used both GT & JG in concert with one another. After researching and trying most including JG, I went with GT. I've been here for 3½ yeas now. [br][br]Justin has only quite recently reorganised his website into structured modules as such, i.e. Beginners Grade 1. They're mostly his older You Tube lessons now better structured collated into stages than the motley assortment as was. JG is OK. His material is good, importantly, now improving as a structured syllabus. Everyone has a preferred learning style, but if you had to choose just one, GT is the still the pick in 2021 IMV.

I use several. i.e. I did buy, use and complete JG's subscription model Music Theory for Guitar course a couple of years ago and found it very useful.

Re GT. Check out the syllabus and see where you are up to equivalent to JG Grade 1 and get stuck in from there. Stick with the chords as you've been taught at JG, i.e. open A, if you find adaptation a challenge. Later you'll use several forms and fingerings of the same (open) chords anyway. GL & have fun.

# 2
mskorude
mskorude
08/27/2021 1:53 pm

Thanks manXcat! I appreciate your thoughts on this.