change strings

lucapiegaia
Full Access
lucapiegaia
Full Access
08/18/2020 3:01 pm

hi,i'm a beginner and i have a question how long is the strings life..my strings have 3 month but i don't know if is the moment for change..i don't recognised any change in the sound of the strings and i don't know any technique to recognised him..help me in this 2 problems solving..

thaks

# 1
Guitar Tricks Admin
Full Access
Guitar Tricks Admin
Full Access
08/18/2020 5:02 pm
Originally Posted by: lucapiegaia

hi,i'm a beginner and i have a question how long is the strings life..my strings have 3 month but i don't know if is the moment for change..i don't recognised any change in the sound of the strings and i don't know any technique to recognised him..help me in this 2 problems solving..

thaks

It's always difficult to hear strings degrade because it happens slowly and overtime. When you change your old strings out for new ones, you will hear the difference, because it is fairly drastic.

As for how long strings should last, that is up to you and depends on how much you play and how you store your guitar. If you play a lot, you can be okay with changing strings once every month or 2 months.

If you have any questions, comments, or concerns, please contact us.
# 2
Captain_Crunch
Captain_Crunch
08/19/2020 11:45 am

Hello Luca!

Besides upon breaking a string, when to change strings depends very much on personal taste and budget, and how often to change them is very dependent on many factors:[br][br]Do you use nylon or metal strings?

Do you use anti-corrosion coated strings (for metal strings)?

Do you play often, for long times? Do you sweat much? Do you live in a humid place?

Do you clean strings after you end playing for the day?

Do you use string care products (like fastfret, etc)?