Cords and finger sliding noise.

SteveHey
SteveHey
10/02/2019 8:10 pm

Going through fundamentals 1 and the five cord power pack on my electric guitar, with the smaller spacing on frets finding I am having to slide fingers on strings to fit others in on cord changes, is this ok?

Just tried changing cords on my acustic and the sliding of finger makes a right racket and not a clean change...

What's the right way, remove and then replace or slide about to get more space etc.... Only started to learn guitar two months ago, just want to make sure I am doing things right and not setting bad habits in memory etc....

Steve.....

Total Beginner at 51, looking to master the skills needed..............

# 1
Guitar Tricks Admin
Full Access
Guitar Tricks Admin
Full Access
10/04/2019 7:25 pm

Hi SteveHey,

Generally you want to make the last amount of "noise" when you're switching chords, but sometimes it cannot be helped.

Some people learn it differently, but this is one of those things that may be different from player to player and song to song. I think it's maybe a little better to lift your fingers off the strings to switch between chords and bar chords, but it may be more difficult since the lift can sometimes make noise. Though, if you slide from one chord to the next, you'll also get a bit of noise as well.

Either way, there's no wrong way to do it.

If you have any questions, comments, or concerns, please contact us.
# 2
Dave-H
Dave-H
10/05/2019 12:14 am
Originally Posted by: SteveHey

Going through fundamentals 1 and the five cord power pack on my electric guitar, with the smaller spacing on frets finding I am having to slide fingers on strings to fit others in on cord changes, is this ok?

Just tried changing cords on my acustic and the sliding of finger makes a right racket and not a clean change...