Root Note?

trampisjr
Full Access
trampisjr
Full Access
09/26/2018 6:03 pm

Hi, Im just starting to learn, Ive been playing for a little bit but just dont catch on very quickly.[br][br]I started playing with people I go to Church with on Monday nights and they play and tell me to pick the root note first.[br]Im so confused, why not just strum the whole cord?[br][br]They pick the root note and sometimes the root note and another string below before struming the remaining strings. Its so very hard to keep up with them!! They keep telling me to hang in there and it will come to me, but its very intimidating cause they are so good and I cant keep up.[br]Some songs I find on here and youtube dont want you to play the root note.[br][br]I just dont get it, I trully want to understand. Can anyone explain it to me???[br][br]and so sorry if I iposted this in the wrong place.[br][br]THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!! :) :)

# 1
manXcat
manXcat
09/26/2018 9:59 pm

Hi!

"Ive been playing for a little bit" contradicts "Im just starting to learn". Which is it? It can't be both.

If the latter, root strumming will be challenging - understatement.

Watch this lesson. It will explain what a root note is contextually relevant to your question, how to effect the technique and explain the concept.

Then go back and watch Root Chord Strumming from the beginning which explains what "people I go to Church with" are possibly trying to affect and why.

Being a competent player does not mean someone is necessarily a competent instructor. It sounds like you'd appreciate one.

GuitarTricks.com?

# 2
trampisjr
Full Access
trampisjr
Full Access
09/27/2018 3:58 am

manXcat, thank you for your reply and links! :)[br][br]Oh, and Im so sorry, I meant to say Ive been playing for a little bit but it feels like I'm just starting to learn.[br]Guitartricks is a blessing!!! :)

# 3
Papa Rich
Papa Rich
09/27/2018 5:31 pm