How long to learn changing chords smoothly?

simpleman9
simpleman9
06/21/2018 7:46 am

It has been a month since I started learning with an electric guitar. I still find it a bit difficult changing from A to D and back. I practice regularly, but still I cannot go smoothly between these two (less ftom D to G).

Does that mean that I should consider giving up learning guitar? Is it reasonable that it has been a month and I still cannot do that properly?

# 1
Guitar Tricks Admin
Full Access
Guitar Tricks Admin
Full Access
06/22/2018 6:20 pm

Hi simpleman9,

Don't give up! G and D are pretty tough to get down. Remember, when you practicing switching between these two chords, you have to do so slowly, to build that muscle memory. Do it as slow as possible, and what you want is to get your fingers on the right spots.

Do this and then speed it up slowly.

Lisa has a great tutorial on this exact topic right here: https://www.guitartricks.com/lesson.php?input=22686&s_id=1870

If you have any questions, comments, or concerns, please contact us.
# 2
davem_or
Full Access
davem_or
Full Access
06/22/2018 11:55 pm

Never give up. Never surrender.

# 3
manXcat
Full Access
manXcat
Full Access
06/24/2018 6:02 am

Hi simpleman9

How long is a "piece" of string?

Over the month, how frequently is "regularly", for how long per session, and do you actively focus on the lesson objective when practising?

Unless you have a physical disability e.g. arthritis or injury?, there's no reason I can foresee you shouldn't eventually manage it [u]if you want to enough[/u]? However, it does sound like you might like to look to 'sharpen your learning tools', or practise a lot more until it's rote, possibly both.

Here's one tip. For a clean minimum fretting pressure of the G, B & E strings for D, ensure your fingernails are trimmed short.