Simple A Minor

skhyatt
skhyatt
02/12/2018 5:16 am

Going through your lessons. I am learning the simple A Minor. I am having a heck of a time with my finger placement. It takes me a while to finally get my fingers in place without that pluck pluck sound, but I cannot take my fingers off and then put them back in the right place consistently. Any thoughts? Driving me crazy! lol

Thanks

Stan

# 1
chrispike306
chrispike306
02/12/2018 11:34 am
Originally Posted by: skhyatt

Going through your lessons. I am learning the simple A Minor. I am having a heck of a time with my finger placement. It takes me a while to finally get my fingers in place without that pluck pluck sound, but I cannot take my fingers off and then put them back in the right place consistently. Any thoughts? Driving me crazy! lol

Thanks

Stan

I'm by no means an expert in this, i've been running through the foundations course for about 8 months now. That effortless "fingers go exactly where they should" thing that happens in the videos takes a lot of practice. After 8 months I can do it with most open chords, but C still eludes me.

Keep practicing and playing! It'll get easier!

# 2
adambroderick
adambroderick
02/14/2018 2:11 pm

As a "Re-Beginner" these are all hard to move back and forth. I am about 2 months in and struggle to get up to song speed with the "easy songs" on the chord changes. As Chris said, C chord is a challenge and took me two weeks to get that one. I have been working on a consistant F chord for about 3 weeks now. and can only get that one about 75% of the time.

The only advice I have- is to learn the chords the right away and not the "cheater" Utube versions. The investment should payoff. I learned to isolate my troubled chord in a song, take the chord before it and go back and forth for multiple time over days. Rinse/Lather/Repeat.

And yes - everyone of us wish we had started many, many years before we did.

# 3
skhyatt
skhyatt
02/23/2018 3:51 pm