Fretting hand flexibility: 'Spider Legs' exercise

Kelly64
Kelly64
12/13/2017 7:42 am

I'm a complete guitar novice, and I'm struggling with making my fretting (left) hand work properly. Specifically, I'm failing at the 'Spider legs' exercise (Link=> https://www.guitartricks.com/lesson.php?input=22141&s_id=1777)

The basic intent of the exercise is to get one finger per fret for the first four frets for each string, keeping each finger 'down' on the fret as you continue adding frets. I've been struggling with even the first three fingers/frets, and failing completely on the lowest strings (E and A). With three fingers down (assuming I manage it) I'm pretty much guaranteed to be touching 'the next string over' as well as the one I'm playing.

I spend five minutes with this dang Spider legs warmup a day before my hour or so of lessons and practice, and my progress is minimal. I'm in my 50s, so I'm sure my flexibility is shot, but is it 'normal' to struggle this much? Should I persevere?

# 1
Clarky75
Clarky75
12/14/2017 12:27 pm

Hi Kelly,

Yes perservere. I am kinda new to playing, I played many years ago for maybe 6 months, now I have started playing I am now 42. I joined guitar tricks and even though I know most of the basics in Lisa's course at least the 1st fundamentals, I have picked up many tips I did not know and Lisa has been great.

With the spider exercise, I still have the same issue as well, I find the finger stretching exercises that Lisa mentions work, but what I have found is don't go too fast, slow it right down and look at the fingerboard and try as hard as you can to hit each note deliberately, if you speed up too quick you miss the notes, go slow and keep at it :)

# 2
john of MT
Full Access
john of MT
Full Access
12/14/2017 5:26 pm

Yup. Go slow. Painfully slow. Concentrate on form and placement.

All of us learn and progress at a different rate; some faster than others, some slower (raising my hand here). But it [u]will[/u] come.