Problem with the F & B Major

firewalkerb4
firewalkerb4
02/10/2012 3:18 pm
I’m a beginner with just over a month into learning to play. I had some problems with the A Major; just keep putting my finger on the strings while looking at them to see if they were touching any of the other strings. And I have some fat fingers; however I found the sweet spot. Now I’m jammed on the F & B Major. I watch the video over and over, along with any other info I can find on the net about how to get these notes, still can’t master the skill.
# 1
tjr.gsa
tjr.gsa
02/11/2012 6:19 am
Beginner as well, focusing on just F for now and had better luck taking an angled approach like this video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l8PvJ5zEnwc

On top of that, and I'm not sure if it's bad technique, but I'm rolling my middle and ring fingers inwards just a bit and fretting more on the corner of my finger tips, seems to expose a little less pad and help keep from muting strings.

Still a long ways to go before I can play this with any sort of consistency, but it's probably just a matter of strength/stretching now.

Not sure if it'll help with your stubbier fingers but might be worth a try.
# 2
Carl King
GuitarTricks Video Director
Carl King
02/11/2012 1:24 pm
Barre chords are a notorious barrier, and once you break through it a whole world of songs will open up to you. It's only a matter of strengthening your grip. It just takes time.

When I switched from acoustic to electric it made a big difference, because the strings on an acoustic tend to be heavier gauge and higher off the neck, making them harder to press down.

Try practicing your F barre chord shape up higher on the neck, where the string tension isn't so strong (it's always harder to play barre chords near the nut). Try using the same fingering but start at the 5th or 7th fret. It will also help your wrist be more comfortable. Then you can start moving it back towards the 1st fret again.

-Carl.