Pick Weight

micren
micren
12/09/2011 1:43 pm
Total noob here. Are there any factors to consider in selecting a pick other than the feeling? I've found I strongly prefer heavier picks to lighter - am I going to cause problems down the road by using them? Is it something I would change based on the song I'm playing?
# 1
SebastBerg
Full Access
SebastBerg
Full Access
12/09/2011 3:52 pm
Well this is a "what feels good to you" situation. There's no right or wrong. Everyone is different and everyones hands are different. Whats' good for one, sucks for another. So experiement with a bunch of them and pick what you like best.
# 2
hunter1801
hunter1801
12/09/2011 5:58 pm
If different sized picks were "wrong", then they wouldn't be making them. Professionals use all different kinds. Like SebastBerg said, it's what feels good to you. Just experiment with all of them until you find one you like.

Oh and the "heavy, medium, etc." terminology doesn't refer to it's weight. It refers to it's thickness. The thicker they are, the "heavier" they get labeled.
# 3
micren
micren
12/09/2011 6:07 pm
Right, I'm using weight in the same sense :) Thanks for the reassurance. I'd seen some random chatter about lighter picks making it easier to play faster, but I really don't like how they feel.
# 4
SebastBerg
Full Access
SebastBerg
Full Access
12/09/2011 6:12 pm
Actually its the oppossit. Well, to my feel :)

Heavier picks dont bend that much. So when you do fast picking, the pick responds better timing wise. A lighter pick will bend a little and will affect the timing of your picking hand and the fretting hand.
Where talking about quarter of seconds probably but that can be a lot if you are really fast :).
But thats something you can get used too by timing your left hand with the right hand accordingly. So it always comes down to what you feel is better for you :)
# 5
Slipin Lizard
Slipin Lizard
12/09/2011 8:19 pm