Fat Fingers!

JamesLJ
JamesLJ
03/13/2009 10:29 pm
Hey all...glad to be here. I'm VERY new at this. Every time I pick up a guitar and try to learn, I always end up giving up with the phrase "My fingers just don't work like that." Now I have three free resources for computer-based lessons, and I really don't have an excuse not to learn. That said...my main problem is that my fingers are too wide. I always, no matter how I hold my fingers, mute the string next to the one I'm pressing. Any tips on this??
# 1
Chancy
Chancy
03/13/2009 11:32 pm
I'm still new myself and have fairly large fingers. I've found that as I play more and my fingers toughen up, I don't have to press as hard which keeps my fingers from spreading out so much. Good luck. I'm sure there are some better tips out there. Don't give up
# 2
Kevin Taylor
Guitar Tricks Instructor
Kevin Taylor
Guitar Tricks Instructor
03/14/2009 12:17 am
One thing that I often relate to students is to learn to live with unusual differences in hands if there is just no way to overcome it.
With fat fingers for instance, you might be attempting to play a chord exactly as shown in a book or video. However, just because you might be muting a string or not able to play the chord exactly doesn't mean all is lost.

A lot of times the guitar is just a backup instrument for a vocalist or band, so there isn't the need to always play all the strings of a particular chord.
Even if you can manage just 3 notes to play, you've essentially covered the basics of a chord.

If all else fails, you can always turn to alternative tuning. I even use this myself when recording because I can get a smoother sound and hold down chords for longer periods of time.
For instance if I'm playing a song with all major keys, I'll just tune my guitar to open G. Or use Drop D tuning. Sometimes I'll put masking tape over a couple of strings if they're getting in the way.