learning to play

dynu
dynu
11/21/2001 9:35 pm
Is somewhere on this site a full, step-by-step course for a total beginner to learn to play? I searched and all I could find for beginners was stringing and tuning the guitar.
If you dont have such, could you point me to some good starting place ?

Thanx
# 1
zeb985
zeb985
11/28/2001 6:10 pm
Im not the best of guitar players so there are probaly alot of people out there that could answer this question better but I recommend ebay.com. they have a guitar begginer computer program that you can purchase for pretty cheap. It teach some of the basics and starts you off slow and picks up gradually. The songs you will learn are mostly older ones and arent probably going to be what you hoped to learn but the value isnt the songs but the learning of the material and getting your fingers going and learning how to change chords smoothly and timely. But how ever you choose to start out make sure to have fun its what its all about.
two wrongs dont make a right but three lefts do.
# 2
educatedfilm
educatedfilm
11/28/2001 10:33 pm
You could be a cheapskate like me when i first started out, and go to some free ware sites, and find "chord finder" programs, which pretty much teach you chords... and then you could come back to this site, learn how to read tab, then get some tabs.... That's similar to how i started out...
Good luck... :)
# 3
Psycho Amram
Psycho Amram
11/29/2001 8:25 am
find someone to show you few basic chords, the way to build chords and some basic theory n notes.
practice practice practice.
find out how to read tab (that's pretty easy). get tabs of songs you'd like to play.
practice again. practice again. practice again.
that's what i did and i'm happy with it. :)

p.s
never give up. don't get frustrated over some songs you possibly can't work out just leave'em alone for a while and get back to them when you're ready.