Bad Habits

maser
maser
02/22/2001 10:22 pm
I've been playing guitar for only about a year and I haven't taken any formal lessons. What are some of the basic 'bad habits' that are developed by beginner players and how does one break them. Any help would be much appreciated! Thanks!

-Mai Zure
Mai Zure - So overdriven, he sh*ts distortion
# 1
Lordathestrings
Gear Guru
Lordathestrings
Gear Guru
02/23/2001 4:51 am
When I first started, I didn't have my own guitar, which meant I was moochin' minutes on any axe I could lay my hands on. 'Trouble is, I had no concept of the importance of correct positoning of my hands. To make things worse, my hands weren't as strong as they needed to be. Most of the guitars I had access to were acoustics with heavy bronze strings, so I got used to cradling the neck in the web between my thumb and forefinger. I still do that unless I make a conscious effort to put my thumb at the centre of the neck, where it belongs.

I've been playing for over thirty years; the best way I know of for breaking bad habits is to identify and correct them as soon as they appear. Teaching yourself is not going to do this for you. Get some lessons from someone who has the experience to recognize potential problems before they become habits.
Lordathestrings
Guitar Tricks Moderator

www.GuitarTricks.com - Home of Online Guitar Lessons
# 2
Joseph
Joseph
02/25/2001 2:38 am
Alot of the times we are worried about whether or not we are forming certain chords properly, and if we will ever be able to play our favorite guitar solo with ease. It all depends on your will to learn something new everyday, and not being afraid to make mistakes along the way (especially when you feel like everyone is watching your every move, (and sometimes they are, :D.)