Hello, new guy here!

dwills468
dwills468
08/23/2020 4:06 pm

# 1
dwills468
dwills468
08/23/2020 4:11 pm

Sorry, accidentally hit the submit. Ok, my name's Dave and I just started playing a couple months ago. Until now I've only been watching videos. I'm starting at the beginning with Lisa and already feel like it was worth starting there. [br]I have an embarrassing question though. Of all the videos I watched, nobody ever told me how to stop dropping my pic down the sound hole. I feel like I'm playing the game Operation getting it out of there. Any tips would be greatly appreciated. It's driving me crazy. Lol.[br][br]

thank you

# 2
moosehockey18
moosehockey18
08/23/2020 7:23 pm

Hello and welcome !

Your post reminds me of a picture of John Lennon holding his guitar upside down trying to get his pick out. If it can happen to him, it can happen to any of us!

A few tips that you may find helpful:

1) Try different types of picks, Some have nice grips that prevent slipping. They also come in different levels of flexibility. A more flexible pick may help. It helped me.

2) Try holding the guitar so that the strings are perpendicular to the floor. That way, if you lose your grip, it will usually will fall on the floor instead of in the sound hole.

3) When strumming, try to lead a bit with your hand so the pick strikes the strings at such an angle so that it glances off the strings rather than slamming into them. It takes a bit of practice but before long you`ll get the feel of it.

I`m sure more experienced players can offer more insight. Hopefully this helps.

Jeff

# 3
dwills468
dwills468
08/23/2020 10:56 pm

Haha...yea. Thanks Jeff. I've done that but now I put double sided tape on one of my wife's hair things and pull it out Operation style. If I hit the strings it's like the buzzer and it falls back in and I lose. [br]Appreciate the tips. Wish I would've picked this up a long time ago.

# 4
Carl King
GuitarTricks Video Director
Carl King