1) Yamaha APX600, 2) FS800 or 3) Fender CD-60SCE?

Ossewa
Full Access
Ossewa
Full Access
08/13/2020 1:51 pm

I am 50 years old, and have small hands. I am a beginner.[br]I have a Yamaha F310. But I want to buy a acoustic that will be easier to play with my small hands, e.g. smaller body, low action, slimmer neck, shorter scale length, and good neck angle, etc.[br]I don’t think I want to buy a ¾ guitar, but I am not sure. But for now I want to see if I can get a smaller full-size acoustic guitar. [br]I have an amp so if I can plug it in that would be nice, but this is not essential; playability is far more important. I can’t spend more than £350 at this stage.[br]I am mainly interested in playing cords and finger picking. [br]Only a hobby, will only play at home on the couch or outside in the garden.[br] [br]I live far away from any big guitar shop to test them out, I will have to buy online.[br] [br]I have done some research and it seems that one of the following will fit my needs: [br]1) Yamaha APX600, 2) FS800 / 820 / 830 or 3) Fender CD-60SCE.[br] [br]Which one of these will you advise? Or do you recommend a different guitar?[br] [br]Many thanks.

# 1
Carl King
GuitarTricks Video Director
Carl King
GuitarTricks Video Director
08/13/2020 4:44 pm

I have a Yamaha APX500III and I love it! I've used it a ton. It's my go-to guitar for figuring out random stuff. I actually prefer the small acoustic body because it's easy to grab and use in front of my computer. Less chance of banging it on things in here, and very comfortable to play. It's almost like just having an electric guitar (and of course it has a direct out and built-in tuner which is a life-saver).

The tone is not what you'd usually get out of a regular-sized acoustic body, but it totally works for me! And I actually love direct piezo acoustic sounds for recording.

Not familiar with the others.

-Carl.

Carl King[br]GuitarTricks Video Director / Producer

# 2
Ossewa
Full Access
Ossewa
Full Access