Changing strings

samanthawolfe69
samanthawolfe69
09/24/2019 12:07 am

I am a beginner player that has just finished Guitar Fundamentals I and I'm working on II. I've been practicing pretty regularly (as often as my hectic schedule allows) for the past 5 months. When do I need to change my strings? I have a feeling I may need to do so now but I'm not sure what I'm looking for in effects that would let me know that. I have an electric guitar (it's a Frankenstien that a friend put together for me using several different guitars for parts). And what is the best brand/kind of strings out there that I should be looking at that won't break the bank?

Thanks!

# 1
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
09/24/2019 1:39 am

Hey & welcome to GT!

Originally Posted by: samanthawolfe69

I am a beginner player that has just finished Guitar Fundamentals I and I'm working on II.

[/quote]

Congrats on your achievement!

[quote=samanthawolfe69]I've been practicing pretty regularly (as often as my hectic schedule allows) for the past 5 months. When do I need to change my strings?

Things to look-listen for: corrosion, discoloration, dents in the wound strings over the frets, won't stay in tune, dull sounding.

You don't absolutely need to change stings until they break! :) But usually after a week or two of serious & solid practice (a few hours a day) I find that they can use changing. Most beginners can get away with a month or two.

Any brand will do. Fender, Daddario, Ernie Ball. Get something on sale. What ever is inexpensive at the local store or on the web. Some brands react differently to different individual's hand oil, sweat, touch. Some wear out quicker than others. You might try a few different brands over the course of the next few string changes & learn from experimentation what works best for you.