Which acoustic guitar?

ron90265
ron90265
05/09/2019 4:21 pm

I am just beginning. I have an old nylon string classical guitar. As a brand new guitar player I would like to know what guitar would serve me best to create better habits in the long run. I have looked at steel string acoustic guitars and find the main differentiator between that choice and my classical seem is

1) The classical has a wider neck

2) It doesn't have the fret markers that a typical acoustic guitar has.

3) I like the sound of the nylon strings over the steel strings, but my only concern here is whether the feel of one over the other will teach me better habits.

So,specificaly with the end goal of creating better habits with an ultimate ability to play any type of guitar when I am more experienced, what type of guitar is best to learn on?

Thanks for any feedback!!

# 1
Guitar Tricks Admin
Full Access
Guitar Tricks Admin
Full Access
05/09/2019 5:03 pm

Hi ron90265,

A nylon acoustic guitar might serve as a crutch overall since the strings are much softer. Nylons do sound really great and the classical guitar shape is wider, which helps stretch out your hand.

If you want to ultimately play any type of guitar, I suggest finding a nice acoustic, steel-stringed guitar since a lot of guitars used in contemporary music and even classic pop music (Elvis, Dylan, The Beatles, etc) from the 50's until now use a steel-stringed guitar.

I recommend Taylor's Academy acoustic guitars because they sound fantastic and if you need, comes with some essential electronics depending on the model.

That's my 2 cents!

- Billy

If you have any questions, comments, or concerns, please contact us.
# 2
ron90265
ron90265
05/11/2019 5:53 am

Thanks Billy. That was helpful. If I go to a Taylor acoustic, do you think it’s more difficult to go to the wider neck classical later? I’m almost wondering if steel strings on the wide classical neck wouldn’t be the best for building fundamental habits.

# 3
ron90265
ron90265