Newbie Here Looking for Recommendations

mudderdave
mudderdave
12/31/2018 11:07 pm

New to guitar and I just joined yesterday. I bought an Alvarez Acoustic/Electric over the weekend, (first guitar). I went to use it and noticed there was a crack near one of the tuning pegs. I returned it with no problem and got my money back. So now on my journey to get a new first guitar. After the experience with the Alvarez, I'm kind of weary. Looking for recommendations. I have smaller shorter fingers than most. I like the idea of Acoustic/Electric since I bought an acoustic amp to go with the Alvarez. My budget is around $650. Any input would be greatly appreciated, especially about a really good guitar that I don't necessarily have to blow my whole budget. Thanks

Dave

# 1
manXcat
manXcat
01/01/2019 12:34 am

You don't need to pay that.

Easy answer. Yamaha APX600. I currently own and play three acoustics including one of these.

Ideal in your circumstances, for your current purpose now and in the years to come.

Anything in that class from any brand is an alternative you might care to look at, but make sure their design incorporates a modern section friendly neck, string spacing, action etc.

# 2
lgherb
lgherb
01/05/2019 3:54 pm
Originally Posted by: manXcat

You don't need to pay that.

Easy answer. Yamaha APX600. I currently own and play three acoustics including one of these.

Ideal in your circumstances, for your current purpose now and in the years to come.

Anything in that class from any brand is an alternative you might care to look at, but make sure their design incorporates a modern section friendly neck, string spacing, action etc.

Solid recommendation!

Also from Yamaha at that same price point is the FSX800C, which is a "concert" size body with a solid Sitka spruce top. The electronics in it *might* be a downgrade, but you have to ask your self if your really going to be plugging in as a true beginner.