Junk or user error?

catmeier
catmeier
12/09/2018 8:22 pm

I bought a Squier Strat short neck that came with a frontman 10g amp. Problem is I don't like the sound. I've tried every setting possible but I always have a vibration/reverb. I bought it online, but should I take it to the guitar shop to see if it's setup right ? Should I get a better amp? Or is it just me? I've been learning for 3 months now, and will only be playing at home.

# 1
fuzzb0x
Full Access
fuzzb0x
Full Access
12/09/2018 9:10 pm
Originally Posted by: catmeier

I bought a Squier Strat short neck that came with a frontman 10g amp. Problem is I don't like the sound. I've tried every setting possible but I always have a vibration/reverb. I bought it online, but should I take it to the guitar shop to see if it's setup right ? Should I get a better amp? Or is it just me? I've been learning for 3 months now, and will only be playing at home.

I'd say take it to a shop and get a tech to give it a setup and see how you get on from there.

# 2
manXcat
Full Access
manXcat
Full Access
12/09/2018 10:10 pm

From your description, more info required.

Reverb is an effect. As I am given to understand from a quick Google, the Frontman 10G doesn't have reverb, but does have overdrive, another name for distortion, usually moderate e.g super crunch to OD1 unless offered with a number of level settings.

[br]Are you referring to this, or to some problem with the strings where one either buzzes, goes off note as it resonates, or won't sound cleanly with overdrive off/disabled?