Buying a beginner guitar

vagnetsec
vagnetsec
09/18/2017 11:05 pm

Hi people,

I just subscribed to the forum, and really have no idea about guitars, so please be patient :)

I am interest for an acoustic steel strung guitar, but I don't know which one should I take as I am an absolute beginner on my 30ies. Also, what else should I buy with it to tune it, use it etc.?

I am looking to not spend more than 150 to start with.

Many thanks all for your suggestions :)

Regards,

Ev

# 1
Guitar Tricks Admin
Full Access
Guitar Tricks Admin
Full Access
09/26/2017 6:56 pm

Hi Ev,

If you're a complete beginner, the best way to find a decent starter guitar is to go to a local shop and try out a bunch. Eventually, you'll find one that fits your hand and your wallet.

Another tip is to start with an electric guitar. Electric guitars are a little easier to play because the strings don't feel as tight, the tension isn't as strong. This is important because the number one complaint in beginner guitar learners is that their fingers tend to get really sore. This is something guitarists are simply used to. So if you want an easier way to get into playing, go find an electric!

I started with a Squier Stratocaster, and those can be found for as low as $199, and it comes with a bag and a little amplifier.

Best,

Billy

If you have any questions, comments, or concerns, please contact us.
# 2
JeffS65
JeffS65
09/28/2017 12:57 am
Originally Posted by: vagnetsec

Hi people,

I just subscribed to the forum, and really have no idea about guitars, so please be patient :)

I am interest for an acoustic steel strung guitar, but I don't know which one should I take as I am an absolute beginner on my 30ies. Also, what else should I buy with it to tune it, use it etc.?

I am looking to not spend more than 150 to start with.

Many thanks all for your suggestions :)

Regards,

Ev

Billy had some good advice and I would disagree with any of it.