Short/Thick fingers

jmkeel
jmkeel
04/03/2013 1:04 pm
I'm a beginner looking for a nice acoustic guitar. I am sincerely intent on learning to play and am willing to pay for a quality instrument. My concern is that my fingers are somewhat short, and on some guitars I've tried, getting them fully around the neck (like a G chord) is difficult, if not impossible. Do guitars exist for the digitally challenged, or are the dimensions pretty much standard? Either way, I would like to buy a really nice acoustic and would appreciate any suggestions. Thanks.
# 1
ThorfinnFrisken
Full Access
ThorfinnFrisken
Full Access
04/03/2013 1:18 pm
**This is a note from someone with sausage fingers also. **

I am only into my second month in learning and have to let you know is it can be done. At first it was "Man, that A chord I will never get! How do they expect me to get all 3 fingers so close??" and now I am thinking F chord is harder. I know if I just keep at it, it will come. I kept practicing and my fingers learned how to handle the stretches or weird movements of them.

At first it might be hard, but your hands will learn how they need to be to achieve it.
------------------------------------
Learning guitar, one chord at a time...
# 2
bobby_t
Full Access
bobby_t
Full Access
04/03/2013 3:13 pm
Just starting out, you might consider a classical acoustic with nylon strings. The strings have less tension so your fingers aren't deforming as much when you fret. The tone isn't as bright as a steel string acoustic. Some of the necks on these guitars are wider than steel strings, some are not. Why the difference I don't know.

There are plenty of great guitarists with cigar butt fingers.
Thank you, thank you, I'll be here all week.
# 3
compart1
compart1
04/03/2013 3:31 pm
Hi jmkeel..