Speaking of scales...

ninjandrew
ninjandrew
05/13/2005 8:07 am
...can anybody tell me how the screw Im supposed to learn them? Ive been playing for about seven months now. Mainly off tabs, fav. solos, riffs, and licks. But I want to be able to improvise.

My friend who has been playing for about 6 years now says that for improvisation, scales are really important. So I thought, `OK, enough solos and stuff, Ill find some scale tabs.` Accept there arbt any on the internet... This website does have some, but many of them seem strange and are made up by someone. Can anyone tell me a book or a website or something that will teach me more common scales?

My friends say Im pretty quick to learn guitar, but I need these invaluable scales. Can somone give me some advice??
`Willing is not enough, we must do. Knowing is not enough, we must apply.`
-- Bruce Lee
# 1
Cryptic Excretions
Attorney at Law
Cryptic Excretions
Attorney at Law
05/13/2005 1:57 pm
A few things come to mind when reading this thread.

Scales and Improvising (and you)
1) I can see how scales come in handy with improvising, but in actuality they're only as important as you allow them to be. All scales are is a selection of notes in an octave. Thus it gives you a certain direction with each scale.

2) This site does have scales and they do seem to be made up by someone. But so does every scale that you're going to find outside of this website. All scales were conceived by someone at some point in time. If you really want a book or something then I'd say check out the guitar grimiore for scales but as far as websites go check this one www.guitartricks.com and click the link at the top that says scales.
The Gods Made Heavy Metal, And They Saw That It Was Good
They Said To Play It Louder Than Hell, We Promised That We Would

Hulk Smash!!

Whatever you do, don't eat limes. A friend of mine ate a lime once and BAM!! Two years later. Herpes.
# 2
ninjandrew
ninjandrew
05/13/2005 2:40 pm