Guitar maintenance

Drake the Red
Full Access
Drake the Red
Full Access
09/21/2021 2:58 pm

How far would anyone here go to self-maintain their own guitars? One of the best techs here in the U.K. charges roughly the equivalent of $80 per hour for just a string change, bridge and trussrod adjustments.

I bought myself an expensive toolkit and other maintenance supplies (a less expensive alternative to their extortionate fees) and I'm now studying extensively and passionately how to maintain my own instruments.

So how far would others really go to self-maintain their guitars? Is anyone brave enough to delve into the inner workings of an electric guitar or would any of you stop at the bridge and neck?

Am I the only one who plays multiple instruments? Let's be inspirational and find our muses everyday!

# 1
DraconusJLM
DraconusJLM
09/21/2021 5:14 pm

I draw the line at refrets, but am more than happy to do anything else on a guitar. I think the key to learning is don't rush, and don't do anything you can't undo until you know what you're doing. Also be aware that a major screw-up can be really expensive to put right, or result in a guitar that's only fit for spare parts.

I'm currently trying to decide on what pickups to fit to replace the stock models on my Tele.

I wish this forum had a "block user" feature. Possibly I'm not the only one......

# 2
davem_or
Full Access
davem_or
Full Access
09/21/2021 11:58 pm

Hey. No toolkit is complete without a copy of Dan Erlwine's book How to Make Your Electric Guitar Play Great!

# 3
Drake the Red
Full Access
Drake the Red
Full Access
09/24/2021 12:23 am
Originally Posted by: DraconusJLM

.Also be aware that a major screw-up can be really expensive to put right, or result in a guitar that's only fit for spare parts.

[/quote]

You make a strong point, thanks. Let us know which pickups you eventually choose. Good luck with the telecaster

[quote=davem_or]