Marshall TSL 2000 bias adjusting

Ceej
Ceej
08/07/2002 8:33 pm
I had found and have now lost the DIY link for a tube change / re-bias. If someone is aware of where this information is available I would appreciate it if you would post the link, thanks.
# 1
pstring
Big as Elvis, Baby
pstring
Big as Elvis, Baby
08/08/2002 1:45 pm
What exactly are you looking for, a how-to, or bias info? Do you usally do your own biasing? if so , what method do you use?
# 2
Ceej
Ceej
08/09/2002 2:04 am
The TSL has 'leads' in the back that you can connect a meter to and adjust accordingly. The post I saw from some forum somewhere that I lost (thinking I'd easily find it again) had specific step by step instructions as well as the proper settings. I've never done it myself before but I'm pretty handy and have read up on all the danger/methods etc. (things I should have known a long time ago, I guess I've been lucky so far in the tinkering I've done with other amps) Since this amp provides a simple avenue I am planning to do this myself once my new tubes arrive-
# 3
Ceej
Ceej
08/09/2002 2:11 am
http://pub31.ezboard.com/fmarshallampsforumfrm1.showMessage?topicID=442.topic

In case others would like to know.

------------------------------------------------
I put tesla tubes in my DSL401. They are not as clean as the Ei's but sure do sound better in my opinion. As for biasing, any tech could do it. Note you only need to bias if you are replacing the output tubes. I actually biased my amp by myself. It is super easy, but you have to be extremely careful so you don't accidentally kill yourself by touching any high voltage connections. DON'T DO THIS IF YOU DO NOT KNOW HOW TO WORK SAFELY WITH HIGH VOLTAGE ELECTRONICS. Dana123 and SGstrat gave the sequence a while back and it goes something like this.

Instructions:

1) unplug the amp and remove the head unit from the cabinet.
2) locate the 3 pin molex connector labelled (CON 5).