Birth of an Obsession - Dec. 06

hunter60
Humble student
hunter60
Humble student
11/26/2006 11:02 pm
Birth of an obsession #2

By Hunter60

So I had the guitar. It felt like it was staring at me from the back seat of my car as I pulled away from the electronics store. Now I was not a complete novice when it came to the guitar. Granted, I had never played one but I could pick one out of a line up if need be. So the fact that there were only three strings, two stretched taut across the neck and one swinging free like some sort of belay line on radio tower, indicated to me that I needed to get a new set. I aimed the car towards a small music store that I had passed a hundred times in the past.
The store sat in a strip mall, tucked back between an Italian restaurant and an auto parts store. I walked in, my guitar held out in front of me like I was carrying a half-mad, rabid raccoon. The store was crammed with equipment and instruments. There were a lot of people wandering around, some carrying guitars, some with drum sticks. In the back, sounds of lessons that were going on drifted out towards the showroom. The owner, Marty, a short, powerfully built man with half-glasses and a permanent scowl stood behind the counter with his arms crossed.
“New to the guitar?” he said as he nodded at me.
“Uh, yeah. How did you know?”
He stared. “Because you’re carrying it like it might turn around and bite you or something. So, is there something I can do for you other than take that out back and shoot it?”
“I think I need a new set of strings.”
“You think?” He said in a voice that was dripping with sarcasm. “What kind of strings do you want?”
It was clear that this man had no patience for me or the fact that I knew nothing about this instrument. “Uh, straight?”
“Funny. I meant brand. You want D’Addario, Ernie Ball, Dean Markley, GHS? Do you want bronze wound, nickel wound, coated, un-coated? What gauge? .08? .012?”