Sustain

ian.thompson26
Full Access
ian.thompson26
Full Access
10/12/2019 2:26 pm

I'm still a relative beginner - I've just bought a Boss Katana 50 amp but still have a cheap guitar which was gifted to me (yamaha erg121). I've been trying to get better sustain for playing long sounding power chords for rock / metal. Despite turning both the gain & booster knobs up to high on the amp, I cannot get a decent level of sustain for power chords. Anyone got any ideas for best amp setting for good sustain? I suspect it might be just down to cheap pick ups on the Yamaha ( I am using the humbucker in the bridge position). I will be looking to upgrade the guitar in the near future (something like an Epiphone Plus Top Pro). Hopefully a better guitar will improve the sustain but very grateful for any advice in the meantime regarding amp settings on the Katana.

Thanks to anyone who can respond.

# 1
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
10/12/2019 8:01 pm

The Katana is a great amp! While that Yamaha is an inexpensive model you should still be able to get some decent tone from it.

Originally Posted by: ian.thompson26

I've been trying to get better sustain for playing long sounding power chords for rock / metal. Despite turning both the gain & booster knobs up to high on the amp, I cannot get a decent level of sustain for power chords. Anyone got any ideas for best amp setting for good sustain?

The guitar does affect the tone through natural sustain. Good strings, a good fitting neck pocket, decent nut & bridge saddle metal. These are all things that will affect the sustain no matter what you do with FX or an amp.

However, there are 3 things an amp can do to increase sustain: