Balance Volumes Across Presets/Channels

hdoran
Full Access
hdoran
Full Access
08/27/2018 6:30 pm

I'm wondering what methods/tips/tricks you use to balance out your amp volumes on your different channels or presets.

I typically start with my medium gain and get that where I want it and then set other levels for others by ear. I'm often right (whatever "right" means), but am curious how others do this.

In particular, I'm a gigging musician so those of you setting your levels for live shows is really what I'm curious about. Playing in my living room has no consequence if my levels are off, so I try and get things right so I can play a live show and switch tones/presets live.

# 1
LisaMcC
Guitar Tricks Instructor
LisaMcC
Guitar Tricks Instructor
09/02/2018 3:34 pm

Hi hdoran!

I’m hopping in here to assure you we are not ignoring your question!

Our Gear Expert forum moderator is away for a few days - and me, I’m all about acoustic stuff.

We will try to get your question answered as soon as possible!

Wish I could be more help...

- Lisa

Lisa McCormick, GT Instructor
Acoustic, Folk, Pop, Blues

Full Catalog of Lisa's Guitar Tricks Tutorials
Find Lisa on Facebook!
# 2
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
09/02/2018 9:00 pm

This is a great topic & I apologize for missing this post until now!

Originally Posted by: hdoran

I'm wondering what methods/tips/tricks you use to balance out your amp volumes on your different channels or presets.[/quote][p]This depends on the nature of the gig. But my overall plan is:

1. Know the nature of the gig ahead of time (songs, styles, relative band volume, room size).

2. Make a plan (guitars, amps, effects, power).

3. Test the plan.

4. Have a backup plan for when Plan A fails (be prepared to adapt, improvise & overcome!)

Originally Posted by: hdoran