Enter: Recording World

jasim.hd
jasim.hd
12/31/2018 2:42 pm

Hello, everyone. Hope all is well.

So after many failed attempt and frustration with trying to get help to record my music, I have decided to do it myself, hence, I am planning to venture into the recoding world.

To keep things short, I have the following: good laptop, Focusrite Scarlette 2nd Gen 2i4, and Pro Tools First.

As a beginner I want to keep things short, only guitar line, bass line, and vocals. My question is: how do I actually record? Through mic’ing the amp? Straight through interface to DAW? What about effects? Use Guitar rig? What’s the left/right channels for guitar?

Obviously, I’m overwhelmed. So I really would appreciate any kind of help into this.

Thank you in advance and Happy New Year! :)

# 1
JeffS65
JeffS65
01/09/2019 8:10 pm
Originally Posted by: jasim.hd

Hello, everyone. Hope all is well.

So after many failed attempt and frustration with trying to get help to record my music, I have decided to do it myself, hence, I am planning to venture into the recoding world.

To keep things short, I have the following: good laptop, Focusrite Scarlette 2nd Gen 2i4, and Pro Tools First.

As a beginner I want to keep things short, only guitar line, bass line, and vocals. My question is: how do I actually record? Through mic’ing the amp? Straight through interface to DAW? What about effects? Use Guitar rig? What’s the left/right channels for guitar?

Obviously, I’m overwhelmed. So I really would appreciate any kind of help into this.

Thank you in advance and Happy New Year! :)

Hopefully you'll come back to this thread as it appears to have been unanswered.

First thing is; don't be intimidated. When you open up your DAW, it looks like the cockpit of a 747. So many things to look at. How does it all make sense?!