How long does it really take to get good at guitar

jlew523
Full Access
jlew523
Full Access
11/28/2021 4:42 pm

Hello,

I have been playing guitar consistently for almost 3 years. While I'm definitely improving and learning a ton, especially through GT 1 & 2, beginning Rock 1 and learning the "Made Easy" selection of songs, I'm also fighting a bit of discouragement with my progress.

Silly as it may seem, I thought I'd be shredding insane solos, improvising and playing most of my favorite songs by ear by now.

Anybody have any tips to fight the current feelings I have? Does discouragement ever fade? How long does it take on average to be able to pick up the guitar and play relatively effortlessly? Five, Ten, Twenty years?

I usually spend about an hour a day practicing techniques, chords, and songs. I also have a full-time job, wife and 3 kids, so maybe that is also affecting my progress? Any insight from the community and instructors would be greatly appreciated! Thanks.

# 1
ddiddler
Full Access
ddiddler
Full Access
11/28/2021 7:41 pm

I think your just pretty normal. [br]think the expectations are what we all had and so is your reality[br]probably more unusual to just pick up the guitar and shred unless you've played other instruments.

18 months in and still picking my way round guitar tricks.

playing scales and noodling around. [br]chord changes just aren't quick or smooth enough to handle complete songs. [br]still hanging in and enjoying the very slow improvement and I've never set a time limit.

I just keep going

Dave

# 2
mjgodin
mjgodin
11/28/2021 8:03 pm