Acoustic vs Electric

jimk8882
jimk8882
09/10/2020 1:32 pm

Hi. I am a beginner currently working on Fundamentals 1. Enjoying it so far although getting anxious to play some of the made easy songs. I am wondering what the pros and cons are in learning on both an acoustic guitar and an electric guitar. So far, all of Lisa McCormick's lessons are on acoustic and looking ahead I see some of the first made easy songs suggested to beginners are also on acoustic guitars (such as Simple Man). I know that the lessons in Fundamentals 1 can be done on both as I am using an electric guitar but it would be nice to learn on the acoustic guitar as well. In the end, some songs seem to sound better on acoustic and others are more suited to the electric guitar. Thoughts?

# 1
Sasha-B
Full Access
Sasha-B
Full Access
09/10/2020 1:48 pm

Hi and welcome! valid questions and statements! I own both and started out on acoustic. as you have found, there are advantages to both types of guitar. As far as acoustic-it requires more pressure on the strings to hit the note. I found this to be positive when I started playing electric. Obviously, the acoustic can be taken anywhere and doesn't require amplification, which is why I initially went this route.

And you are correct! Some songs sound better on acoustic and vice versa. At this point, I am glad I own both since my taste in music is eclectic, and practicing on both is fun.

If you do opt to buy an acoustic, I suggest Yamaha-they make a great guitar for their price range and are respected for their quality. If possible, still get to a guitar store to try out the different body styles. Some have larger bodies (dreadnaught, for example) than others (parlor as the smallest body style) and there are other body sizes in between those two examples. If you go this route, make sure it's an acoustic you want to play.

2021 Iris CH

2021 G&L ASAT Classic Tribute

# 2
manXcat
Full Access
manXcat
Full Access
09/10/2020 6:12 pm