trouble playing along with backing tracks

ladybug29
ladybug29
10/16/2018 10:39 pm

Hi Everyone,

I'm a 65 year old beginner. I needed a hobby since I have retired and always wanted to play guitar. The problem I'm having is I can read the tabs and even play through them with a little practice but as soon as Lisa counts me in and the band begins to play I'm suddenly all thumbs and I'm a mess. If I turn off the computer and play the piece I have little trouble remembering and playing the piece.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

# 1
Guitar Tricks Admin
Full Access
Guitar Tricks Admin
Full Access
10/16/2018 11:20 pm

Hi ladybug29,

This is pretty common. Everybody learns at their own pace. When the you play with a backing track it might be a little more difficult because you have to suddenly keep up with the other instruments. When you're playing alone, you keep your own time and that's a bit easier to do.

It takes a bit of time and practice, but I do suggest trying to play along with the backing track so you can get used to playing a song at full speed. Be prepared to mess up, because there's no avoiding that. But playing at full speed teaches you when to change chords, and teaches you a bit of rhythm as well.

Stick with it, and I am sure you will get it!

If you have any questions, comments, or concerns, please contact us.
# 2
manXcat
manXcat
10/17/2018 1:01 am

Hi ladybug29

As suggested in the previous post by the admin, perseverence. Just keep at it. Even if you're up to speed with the song's tempo on your own, I find backing tracks require adjustment to settle into the same rhythm. Rote slog and familiarity will work it out for you in the end.

Similar age to you, playing guitar again for similar reasons. What you're experiencing is entirely normal.

# 3
gameonmusic
gameonmusic
10/17/2018 8:05 am