Chords vs. Single Notes

jsquiers
jsquiers
02/18/2008 4:43 am
Hello, I'm very new to guitar playing, but am very motivated at this point (31 years old and practicing a LOT!). I've been working through the lessons here, but one thing I'm confused about is the difference between playing a song with just strumming chords, and actually playing the notes.

For example, I have a book (4 chords songs) with "Wonderful Tonight" in it. It gives the 4 cords to use and shows rhythm slashes for strumming these chords through the whole song. It also has the notes and words bellow that. Now, when Clapton plays this song, he isn't strumming; he's playing notes. I don't understand when is the best time to play notes vs. strumming chords? I also notice people hold cords but pick single notes while holding that chord. I guess I'm very confused -- please set me straight.

thanks,
Jeremy
J Squiers
# 1
earthman buck
earthman buck
02/18/2008 5:14 am
Most notes played in a song will fit into some chord or another used in that song. If the note it says to pick is a C, the chord being played over it could be a C major, C minor, A minor, etc. The chord progressions are in the book just so you know which chords you could be playing over it. It's basically a rhythm/lead thing.
# 2
light487
Forum Administrator
light487
Forum Administrator
02/18/2008 7:55 am