View post (Strumming nightmares - sound advice welcome/needed)

View thread

ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
05/22/2020 2:34 pm
Originally Posted by: theMolster

On the advice of one of the instructors on the site I started to try strumming with a pick again and quickly realised why I stopped in the first place. Bear in mind, I'm not a complete beginner and I did put a lot of effort into using a pick for a fair amount of time but it never felt comfortable. And I have also put a lot of effort in the last few weeks - everyday, multiple practice sessions with strumming.[/quote]

First, I'm sorry for your frustrations. It sounds like you need to practice using a much lighter & more precise technique.

Addressing specific issues.

Originally Posted by: theMolsterVery uneven sound due to hitting strings lighter or heavier (inconsistent)[/quote]

Find a place to solidly plant your strumming arm on the guitar. Make your strumming motion a very small, controlled pass over the strings. Tilt the pick so you can lightly graze over the strings. DO NOT DIG IN.

Originally Posted by: theMolsterMissing strings completely on both down and up strokes

This is a matter of making your strumming arc as small & precise as necessary. Go very slowly & with small motions.

[quote=theMolster]Upstroke sounds consistently bad and feels alien

Practice upstrokes exclusively for a whole practice session. Tilt the pick so you can lightly graze over the strings.

[quote=theMolster]Pick get caught in the strings

The top e rings out so highly and annoying on the upstroke that I feel like cutting it with a wire cutter