View post (Retired 64 year year old)

View thread

DavesGuitarJourney
DavesGuitarJourney
05/16/2020 1:23 am

I think the hardest part of choosing that first guitar is that you really don't have a frame of reference to compare against as you try different guitars. Certainly you will compare them each to the other, but the hard fact is that probably none of them will "feel" good to you since by gosh, ya can't play any of 'em! Plus, it can feel awkward to sit down and start trying out guitars when you can't really play. Some guy next to you may be casually playing some really advanced stuff and you're awkwardly holding a guitar and testing how it feels to play one note at a time. Don't let it stop ya. That guy was a complete beginner once too, and he probably remembers what it was like and would encourage you.

Having said that, budget is obviously a factor. If you are looking to buy an acoustic you could get an entry level Martin or Taylor or something along those lines for about $500 - maybe a little less. I've read very positive reviews for Taylor's Academy series that is really designed for beginners but supposedly still has great sound. I would expect something like that to be really playable and have great tone.