View post (Guidance with improving skills.)

View thread

axemaster911
axemaster911
04/02/2006 9:07 pm
Originally Posted by: tab_ishHey guys,

I'm a university student and I've been playing guitar for a good few years now, but I'd like to improve my skills that further step and I'm finding it a little challenging at the moment. I have the motivation but I'm unsure what strategy and lessons would lead to the best results. My inspirations are Metallica, Led Zeppelin, Joe Satriani, Yngwie Malmsteen, and so on...

I've tried a few different practice schedules but I find that they become redundant and I dont notice a significant difference in my performance overall.

Could you guys offer some tips on how I can improve my sweeping/legato techniques?

Also, any suggestions on what kind of songs are good for improving skills that extra notch are greatly appreciated.

Lastly, I'm looking into taking metal guitar lessons over the summer. What kind of things should I be wary of when choosing an instructor, taking lessons? (I have taken lessons before but it was a few years ago.)

Thanks!!

p.s. anybody know any good instructors in the toronto area?