Guitar Tricks Blog
Posted: March 30, 2020

Live Lesson with Mike Olekshy

Hi everyone! Exciting news to announce. Guitartricks instructor Mike Olekshy will be hosting a live lesson this Friday and it’s absolutely open to anyone who wants to join! 

Mike is hosting a FREE online lesson covering common variations of open and barre chords. This is a great lesson for beginners looking to learn and practice power chords, open chord variations, adding extra notes to chords, and getting familiar and comfortable with barre chords.

Just bring yourself and your guitar to listen in and follow along to this group live lesson. At the very end, Mike will be available to answer any questions you have about the lesson or guitar in general!

Lesson details:

Date: Friday April 3rd, 2020 at 5PM PST / 7PM CST/ 8PM EST

Duration: Approx. 1 hour

Topics: chord anatomy (1st, 3rd, 5th), barre chords (major, minor, sus, dom7th), open chords (root 5th, sus2, sus4), adding extra notes to chords, practice strategies, Q&A and more! 

Make sure to sign up here. 

Signing up will ensure that you are notified when the lesson begins. 

Most of you will recognize Mike from all around Guitartricks as he’s been teaching on the website for years. Here are some fun facts about Mike:

-First instrument: drums

-First guitar: Aria Pro II ZZ

-Go-to guitar: Gibson Les Paul (as seen on a number of Guitartricks lessons)

You can read all about Mike in our Q&A session we had with him a few years ago. He talks about how he started playing guitar and gives some advice on playing in front of a crowd or in front of a camera! Read about it here

For more lessons from Mike, make sure to visit his instructor page here

For those who enjoy learning in a one-on-one live setting with Mike, you can always book additional lessons with him through Guitartricks Pro

Get More Tips

More Content By Category