Guitar Lessons:
Guitar Tricks
Username:     Password:
Guitar Lessons (855) EZ-GUITAR




Go Back   Guitar Tricks Forum > Open Community ( Visitors Welcome ) > Tone and Effects
User Name
Password


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-25-2001, 08:04 PM
JJams JJams is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Vermont
Posts: 4
JJams has made some friends around here
I have just started reaching the tone that I would like to have. I play through a Fender 2x12 Hot Rod DeVille. The problem is that when I click on the dirty channel on my amp it basically sounds like crap. I like to build up the intensity in my music and when I hit that channel it throws me off. Is there a way to have a rack E.Q. just for my dirty channel? Maybe with a foot switch to turn the E.Q. on and off? Anyone HELP. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-26-2001, 02:25 AM
Bardsley Bardsley is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 731
Bardsley has made some friends around here
I think you'd be better off getting some sort of distortion unit, either rack mounted big amazing tube thingy, or a stomp box. The thing is that a lot of amps just don't have great distortion unless you get distorion by cranking the amp. I have a Boss OD-3 Overdrive pedal, which is great for a rich and full tone, which I often play with the drive very low, just to get a nice full sound with some crunch. Whether you go for something like that, or something more sophisticated, I think you will get better results than adding more eq to a dirty distortion channel. I would imagine that no matter how much you eq a muddy channel, you're not going to get a very nice sound. Just my thoughts, if anyone cares to disagree, feel free.
__________________
"Dozens of people spontaneously combust each year, it's just not that widely reported".
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-26-2001, 11:20 AM
JJams JJams is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Vermont
Posts: 4
JJams has made some friends around here
See I already have a tube screamer and some distortion on a digitech processor but they don't really have that intense distortion. But the thing with intense distortion is that it might end up sounding like metal or a grunge sound. I'm not really into that. I'm not really trying to get any more stomp boxes because I got so many already. Do you know of any rack distortions?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-26-2001, 03:07 PM
phymozzy phymozzy is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 9
phymozzy has made some friends around here
Send a message via ICQ to phymozzy
Crappy sounding

What you have to do is to put a 60Hz filter in the output of the channel, so the noise doesnt pass to the speakers. ask some electronic geek on how to do that, cause i dont know how to install it exactly
__________________
][ |-|Mzz ][
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:14 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin® Version 3.0.17
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Guitar Lessons Learn Guitar
© Copyright 1998-2014 GuitarTricks. All rights reserved.


Learn Guitar Online